CULTURE / POLITICS

My Brothers Keeper

I find it very strange that Nigerians complain about the media’s coverage of the french attacks relative to the coverage of BAGA… When people keep quiet during the afflictions of others, why would people cry out during your own affliction…All the killings going on against our brothers, African Americans. Not a word from African leaders, If Ebola did not enter Nigeria, Our leaders would have done the classic “its their problem”.. On Palestine…nothing….charity begins at home. I hope a new crop of African leaders come up that try to rebuild bridges…especially on the African-American issue… because if we think after being part of the worst sufferings put on man, we can pretend it does not concern us and expect all to be well with our land …then we are SERIOUSLY DECEIVING OURSELVES.

First they came for the Jews
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Jew.
Then they came for the Communists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Communist.
Then they came for the trade unionists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a trade unionist.
Then they came for me
and there was no one left
to speak out for me.
– Martin Niemöller

Leave a Reply

